City Salutes Softball All-Stars

The 10-12-Year-Old All-Stars, the 2021 Sectional champions: Manager Brent Bilvado (from left) pictured with All-Stars Madeline Bilvado, Mackenzie Taylor, Sarah Esbenshade, Jenna Wang, Mia Kelly and Bridget Spain.

Emergency sirens pierced an otherwise serene Friday evening at Lacy Park last week, but the recognizable sound existed to bring attention to the conquests authored by three of the town’s softball teams rather than point out illegal activity.
The teams marched through the Virginia Road entrance, accompanied by friends and family members, and were then acknowledged by the City of San Marino for their exemplary performances in postseason play this past summer.
San Marino’s Juniors and 8-10-year-old All-Star softball teams won the 2021 state championship and the 10-12-year-old All-Stars won the sectional title in a banner year — literally — for the sport.
Teams took turns on the stage that had been erected for the city’s Lacy Park Summer Concert Series. San Marino’s Community Services Department unfurled a banner — emblazoned with the names of each player and coach — which remained on the stage throughout the evening.

The 8-10-year-old All-Stars, the 2021 State champions: Mackenzie Bates (front, from left), Maddie Rome, Kate Rome, Scarlett Regan, Cassidy Regan, Millie Webb, Kayla Wu, Elaine Hou, Alison Tam, Kylie Lei, Stella Jeffries and Campbell Taylor. Back: Manager Jarrod Taylor, coach Sean Regan and coach Leo Lei.
Coach Dan Giddings and Mackenzie Taylor
Grace Garrity and coach Dan Giddings
Ayla Greer and coach Dan Giddings
Alexandra Hughes and coach Dan Giddings
Mary Sinclair and coach Dan Giddings
Kayla Giddings and coach Dan Giddings

Photos by Mitch Lehman

Now in his 25th year at The Tribune, Mitch Lehman is Editor and Sports Editor in addition to being the public address announcer for ten sports programs at San Marino High School. Mitch is one of only a handful in the community to receive the ‘Very Special Person Award’ from the San Marino PTA at the annual Founder’s Day ceremony, was acknowledged as a 'Terrific Titan' by the San Marino High School PTSA, was named an Honorary Paul Harris Fellow by the Rotary Club of San Marino and received a National Honorary Merit Badge in Journalism from the Boy Scouts of America. He has received two independent Pulitzer Prize nominations and in the past three years, Mitch has won seven awards and is a thirteen-time finalist in the California News Publishers Association's Better Newspapers Contest. In 2015, the press box at Titan Stadium was re-named 'Lehman's Loft' in his honor. You can reach Mitch at

Write A Comment